Help:Undo
| Info by
| |
|---|---|
| Action | protect · unprotect · info · rollback · unwatch · watch · revert · delete
|
| Tag | mw-rollback · mw-contentmodelchange · mw-revert · mw-revert-tag · mw-undo
|
| Driver's Manual | ||||||||||||
| Page | ||||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| New • Search • Info • Move • Delete | ||||||||||||
| Editing | ||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||
| Account | ||||||||||||
| Account • Preferences | ||||||||||||
| Directory... | ||||||||||||
You can undo (and by extension, redo) a specific edit made by yourself or another user. This may be done manually by accessing and re-publishing an older revision, with or without your own, additional changes, or by using the specific undo action link; While similar, both methods can differ in what outcome they restore.
Undo revision
If you click edit on any revision older than the current one, this warning will appear:
That last part is where the (undo) action differs. On initiating the latter, MediaWiki will cross-reference all intermediate revisions between the chosen and current one, determining whether the precise diffs of the chosen edit can be reversed while maintaining other changes made in that time.[1] One of two outcomes will return:
- The edit can be undone. Please check the comparison below to verify that this is what you want to do, and then publish the changes below to finish undoing the edit.
- The edit could not be undone due to conflicting intermediate edits.
If the latter, you will unfortunately need to resolve the records manually. If too complicated, or warrants further attention, consult the talk page or staff noticeboard accordingly.
Otherwise, you will notice the edit summary has been filled, reading Undo revision [[Special:Diff/<revId>|<revId>]] by [[Special:Contributions/<revUser>|<revUser>]] ([[User talk:<revUser>|talk]]). Please provide your reasoning for undoing the edit, either appended to or instead of the automated text. Summaries of course are always encouraged, but it must be emphasized that (undo)s by nature lend more likely to conflict and butting-of-heads – a situation that won't be helped, if not accelerated by, what may appear to be a careless revert.
Once you've finished and published your changes, the resulting log will be tagged mw-reverted, and possibly also mw-manual-revert if identical to any of the last 15 revisions.[1]
Redo revision
Though not an official action, a "redo" is effectively as simple as "undo"-ing your (undo), by way of either method.
See also
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Manual method - "Help:Reverting" on www.mediawiki.org.

